Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

0610161312
Last Thursday my co-workers and I threw a surprise potluck to honor one of my best friends graduation nursing school. You always have to celebrate when you make it threw two years of hell. Anyways I decided to make my pulled chicken sandwiches, which are super easy to make since it’s made in a crock pot. They were a huge hit for about 15 minutes of work, and the best part is you can make them smokey, spicey, original, etc.

0609161057

Start by cutting about six boneless, skinless, chicken breasts in half and tossing them in the crock pot. Drizzle honey back and forth all the way across them or put about a tablespoon of honey in the crock pot.

0609161058

Add 1/4 cup of soy sauce.

0609161059

Add 1/4 cup of hoisin sauce. Hoisin sauce in used in Chinese cooking, it’s kind of like a bbq sauce. It’s made from soybeans and has a sweet and spicy taste to it from the vinegar, sugar, garlic and other spices.

0609161100

Add a 1/4 cup of oil and vinegar dressing (I used Newman’s salad dressing).

0609161101

Pour in 3/4 to 1 cup bbq sauce. Here is where you can play with the flavor, I used orginal bbq sauce but next time I plan on using a smokey spice bbq sauce that I found. Unfortunately I couldn’t make these spicy since I didn’t know who would like spicy food at work.

0609161102

I just sprinkled some red pepper flakes into the crock pot, for a measurement I would say I used about one tablespoon .

0609161112_HDR

Next dice up one small white onion, it may seem like a lot at first but once it cooks down and you shred the chicken it’s the perfect amount.

0609161116

Lastly mince 3 to 4 cloves of garlic and salt and pepper to taste.

0610161313a

Serve the chicken hot and my favorite on a toasted bun with some sriracha sauce. I hope you enjoy this recipe has much as my coworkers, family and I did. As always enjoy.

Ingredients:
6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, halved
1 tablespoon honey
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/4 cup oil and vinegar dressing
3/4 to 1 cup bbq sauce
1 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes
Salt and pepper to taste
1 small white onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced

In a crock pot place six skinless, boneless chicken breasts that are halved. Drizzle about 1 tablespoon honey over the chicken. Pour 1/4 cup soy sauce, hoisin sauce, and oil and vinegar dressing. Then add 3/4 cup bbq sauce, 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper to taste. Dice on small white onion and mince 3 cloves of garlic and add to the crock pot. Turn the crock pot onto desired length and let the chicken cook. Once cooked shred the chicken and serve hot.

Leave a Reply

