Grandma’s Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

1209152113a

To kick off my Christmas baking I thought I would start with a recipe from someone that I love tremendously, my grandmother. Although she is no longer with us every time I step into the kitchen I think of her. My grandmother and mother are who I get my passion of cooking and baking from. Last week I was at my parent’s house thumbing through my mothers like 5 inch ring binder cook book and their they were grandma’s recipes. I always love looking at them, the pages are stained with ingredients and typed from a type writer. I haven’t had these chocolate crinkle cookies since I was a little girl, and as soon as I took a bite into one of them it took me back to grandma’s house during the holidays.

1209151940a

First preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. In a mixing bowl place 1/2 cup unsalted butter, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 3/4 cup cocoa, and 2 cups granulated sugar. Mix all of the ingredients together until their all nice and creamy.

1209151942

Next add in one egg at a time. Start the mixer on a low speed to break up the egg to prevent it from splattering everywhere. Then move the mixer speed up to medium to whip it into the batter. You will do this with all for eggs and mix them until the batter becomes light and fluffy.

1209151950

Your batter should look like this, a nice, light and , fluffy texture.

1209151956

Once your batter is light and fluffy, add 3 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1/2 a teaspoon salt. Mix on medium speed for a couple of minutes to incorporate air so the batter stays nice and light, and fluffy.

1209152001

When your batter is done. Cover with a piece of plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes. The batter needs to be chilled, so it can be worked with without it sticking to your hands.

1209152144

Once your batter has chilled remove it from the refrigerator. Take a spoon of batter and place it into your hand. Roll the batter into about 1- 1 1/2 inch balls.

1209152144a

Drop the balls of batter into a bowl or ramekin of powdered sugar, making sure to evenly coat the whole ball. If you feel like there is too much sugar on them place it them back into your hand and shake it around for the sugar to fall off.

1209152039

Place the balls on a non-greased cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes, or until their baked all the way through. I hope these cookies remind you of childhood or just the holiday season and I hope you enjoy them as much as we do. From my family to your’s happy holidays!

1209152113

Ingredients:
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup cocoa
2 cups granulated sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
4 eggs
3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons salt
Powdered sugar

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. In a mixing bowl cream together oil, cocoa, sugar and butter. Add eggs one at a time and mix until light and fluffy. Mix in the flour, baking powder, and salt on medium speed to keep the batter nice and fluffy. Chill batter in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes. Take a good size spoonful of batter and roll it in your hands. Drop the ball into powdered sugar being sure to evenly coat them. Place them onto a non-greased pan and bake for 10-12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

