Thai Tea with a Twist

Ever since I saw Giada De Laurentiis make Thai tea on her show I knew I just had to try it. Since I have no knowledge on how to make this delicious looking drink I read the reviews for her recipe and there was to many complaints for my taste. I did find a recipe that looked good from White On Rice Couple, but I wouldn’t be myself if I didn’t make it my own by not finding what they called for. With that being said with my improvising I made my own version of these delicious Thai teas.

1208151649

First you will need 4 cups of water at a low boil on the stove. Add 4 black tea bags, I used Bigelow black tea with orange rind and sweet spice, it was amazing and smells wonderful too. I pulled the string and tag off the bags and tossed them in the water. Also add 2 anise stars, 2 whole cloves, 1/4 ground cardamom, and 3/4 cup granulated sugar.

1208151651

Let the tea boil for a couple of minutes and continually stir, so you don’t scorch the sugar. Once the tea mixture is done boiling pull it off the burner and let it cool and rest for about 45 minutes.

1208151747

Once cool place into a container and put in the refrigerator.

1208151925

Once you’re ready to drink the tea, fill a glass with ice and pour 3/4 of the glass with tea.

1208151925a

Fill the rest of the glass with half and half.

1208151928b

Stir together and serve. I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:
4 cups water
4 black tea bags with orange rind
2 anise stars
2 whole cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
3/4 cup granulated sugar
half and half

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil. Place in 4 black tea bags, 2 anise stars, 2 whole cloves, 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom, and 3/4 cup granulated sugar and let boil for a couple of minutes. Let the tea cool and transfer it to a container and place in the fridge until your ready to serve. Once You’re ready to serve fill a glass with ice, pour 3/4 glass of tea and the rest with half and half, and serve.

Leave a Reply

